Sugar Land Marijuana Lawyer

Get Help from a Top Drug Defense Attorney

Marijuana crimes are the most common drug offenses that come before courts throughout the nation. Texas courts do not take drug charges lightly; even a minor possession of marijuana carries a jail sentence of up to 180 days and fines of up to $2,000. Any marijuana conviction carries a driver's license suspension of up to 6 months. Our state does not recognize marijuana as any form of medical treatment so all laws criminalizing the possession or sales of this drug apply to anyone, regardless of whether they are in possession of a doctor's note or medical card from another state.

If you are facing a marijuana charge in the Greater Houston area, it is highly recommended that you arrange for a complimentary consultation with the talented and aggressive Sugar Land criminal defense lawyer at Khawaja Law Firm PLLC as soon as possible. Our lead attorney can review your situation and advise you on the best course of action to take. Attorney Khawaja focuses much of his criminal defense practice on defending those accused of drug offenses, resulting in a strong command of this area of law.

Penalties for Possession

The state of Texas treats drug offenders especially harshly, even if the offense involves the possession of marijuana. The sentencing for conviction of this offense will be impacted by the defendant’s prior criminal history and the specifics of the incident, but the typical consequences for possession are as follows:

  • 2 oz. of marijuana or less: Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of as much as $2,000 and incarceration in county jail up to 180 days
  • 2-4 oz. or marijuana: Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of as much as $4,000 and incarceration in county jail up to 1 year
  • 4 oz. to 5 lbs. of marijuana: State jail felony, punishable by a fine of as much as $10,000 and incarceration in state jail for 180 days to 2 years
  • 5-50 lbs. of marijuana: Third degree felony, punishable by a fine of as much as $10,000 and incarceration in state prison for 2 to 10 years
  • 50-2,000 lbs. of marijuana: Second degree felony, punishable by a fine of as much as $10,000 and incarceration in state prison for 2 to 20 years
  • More than 2,000 lbs. of marijuana: Enhanced first degree felony, punishable by a fine of as much as $50,000 and incarceration in state prison for 5 to 99 years

No matter the circumstances of your arrest, it is imperative that you retain knowledgeable legal defense as soon as possible to ensure your rights and interests are protected. Our team can fight on your behalf and challenge the allegations and any unlawfully gained evidence by building a detailed and compelling defense for your case. In light of such severe penalties, you cannot risk your case to just any firm; do not wait to contact our team for the aggressive advocacy you deserve!

Marijuana Laws in Texas

If you are found with small quantities of marijuana (less than 4 ounces) you will be charged with a misdemeanor. Quantities beyond this will result in felony charges. If you are found in possession of more than 5 pounds of marijuana, you may be considered a drug trafficker, which will result in much more severe penalties. Penalties for selling or distributing marijuana are also determined by the weight of the drug involved. These penalties are increased if the sale or delivery was to a minor or within 1,000 feet of a school or facility where minors congregate.

If you are a first time marijuana drug offender, our Sugar Land defense team may be able to get you into a diversionary program in lieu of jail time. Completion of the program without any further arrests may result in the charges being dropped. Do not risk your freedom and future in the hands of an inexperienced public defender; call our powerful firm today!

Don't wait to fight for your rights & freedoms!

Tell Us About Your Case and We'll Provide a Free Consultation

Send My Info